top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSara Mcdonough

Blog Post #11 PLN

My experience with Twitter so far has been pretty good in terms of connectivity especially with my classmates. I am someone who had used Twitter for a while before creating my professional/ teaching twitter, but I was still not a very avid user of the app. I am enjoying the ability to connect with classmates outside of the classroom, and seeing what educational accounts, or information they are following. I think the only thing I am worried about would be not doing enough because I know I should be posting more every week. I am trying to stay on top of them but it's some times hard to create a prompt for myself outside our class. As a preservice teacher I am understanding the importance that social networking has to the profession especially as students become more and more comfortable with different types of technology, and networks. I think the advantage of social networks is also to have those teaching resources right at our finger tips, and to continuously learn from one another. A disadvantage for me would be students, or others finding my accounts just because I am someone who likes to maintain my privacy online, but overall it could be a plus to involve my students or friends. Going forward I plan to try to find more teaching accounts to follow as well with maintaining my weekly tweets, and my main goal is finding more helpful information to retweet and share with my peers.


12 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 komentáře


Max Oquendo
Max Oquendo
28. 11. 2021

I agree with what you said about students finding my account online, I feel like once I become a teacher I will change my name on social media or maybe just delete some accounts. I don't want to have my personal social media on display for my students, just because I only want them to see me as their teacher. Not to say I think sharing anything personal is bad, but I feel like controlling my online presence is important, kind of like what you were saying. Do you think you will continue with you PLN?

To se mi líbí

Vanessa Rhodes
Vanessa Rhodes
19. 11. 2021

Hi Sara, I like how you connecting the teaching platform we are using, Twitter, with outside of school. Students are exposed and are on my platforms where they can see their teachers and what they do. At first I wasn't a fan of using Twitter because I have my personal account and would never use it but now starting to use it for a professional account, it is helping me wanna reach out more and express my feelings towards what is going on and what we learn.

To se mi líbí
bottom of page