top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSara Mcdonough

Blog Post #5

Updated: Oct 11, 2021

"Students can

  • classify and order objects into hierarchical relationships

  • Understand reverse processes

  • Think logically about concrete objects

  • Arrange objects in order from large to small or small to large

  • Conceptually combine objects to form categories, for example "boxes", and "jars" into "container" (WEMSTSK, 28).

As I do understand the need for some type of uniformity, and a need to bring order to those students who do not seem to have any, I can't help but feel like it is almost a step too far. I do get cleanliness because there need not to be gross (especially middle school), but some kids really dislike a "concrete" structure and can't seem to see it as anything other than a means of control. I love education, and it's something I am super passionate about, but I am also interested in a different way of education. I don't understand how education turned into one of the largest training grounds for conformity to take place, but generalizing educational practices has worked against the students favor. I think it'd be better to make students aware of these steps needed to feel a sense of more concrete or grounding in school, but I feel like it is too much a step out of what can be done in some therapies, and leaves little room for students to explore individuality, and self expression. They need to be able solve these problems independently because while giving the tools can help, sometimes it can also hinder. I think this can be applied to many other parts of what goes into education too like a teacher focused vs student focused learning, but this really made me think!



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page