top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSara Mcdonough

Blog Post #1

Updated: Sep 9, 2021


I think one major takeaway from these reading was getting a grasp on what teaching middle school looks like, and creating an image to the environment, and some insight on what to truly expect. One part of WEMSTSK that stayed with me was the mindset of viewing middle level teaching "from start to finish, young and adolescents are treated with dignity and respect, and their education is more an adventure worth having than a trail to be endured"(xx). This stuck with me because I feel as though we are there in a students time of the most unknowns, and trying to guide them in a way that does not make school seem as tiring, or like a chore is something I want to uncover further.

A huge main focus is not to just develop the student but the middle school child as mentioned in WEMSTSK, "the so-called "problems" posed by young adolescence end up compounded by their family's expectations that teachers can do what they can't" (xix). This is something my fellow future educators and I often talk about, and how we can go about helping to craft a student that might be fully surrounded with outside obstacles, but it plays into the view that is held in your classroom as an educator. The last part of this weeks readings that really made me think deeply about choosing education as my major was the list of expectations to have of students in WEMSTSK saying students will "experiment with their personalities, fall "in love" and "out of love" weekly, pass notes, act emotionally out of control one day and completely mature the next (7). I just thankfully remember those times so fondly, and just reading about it made me further realize how content I am with my decision to stick with middle level education.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page